Do I need a DAC?

SofaKing

I am hoping this is the correct place to pose these questions. I am extremely new to AK so am learning daily. I currently have a Sansui G-8000 that I listen to all my music through my older gen 2 I-pod connected to it via an adaptor cable that plugs into the I-pod and then plugs into the aux input via rca plugs.
I would like to be able to control my music via a remote control that would allow me to adjust the volume, playlist selection and track selection. I thought about doing this with a newer I-pod with blue tooth capabilities but I hear that doing so will reduce sound quality by approximately 10-15%. Not sure if that is true or not. I really do not want to sacrifice any sound quality to get the remote controls mentioned. Do I need a DAC to accomplish this or is there an easier way to do that?
Thanks in advance.

If you're happy with the sound quality from your iPod you can just add a remote-controlled pre-amp between it and the Sansui. As for bluetooth, if it is only used for controlling the iPod remotely I doubt there will be any quality loss as long as your iPod remains connected to the amp directly with cables, but if you somehow plan to stream audio wirelessly over bluetooth then yes, there will be quality loss.

A DAC by itself will not accomplish your goals, except maybe remote volume control. It would not provide remote control of the iPod.

I am hoping this is the correct place to pose these questions. I am extremely new to AK so am learning daily. I currently have a Sansui G-8000 that I listen to all my music through my older gen 2 I-pod connected to it via an adaptor cable that plugs into the I-pod and then plugs into the aux input via rca plugs.