Dynaco ST70 Original? Or not...

Jbmorrey

So I recently purchased an old Dynaco st70 without any tubes. I wanted to purchase some basic tubes, nothing special just to test if the unit functions, so I have a couple of questions....

1. How can I tell if it is original or has been altered/ modified?
2. How can I clean it up, the chassis nickel is flaking off a lot, but I want to clean up the collection of dust and such from the circuit board , what’s the best cleaning solution and method?
3. Which tubes are needed? Any suggestions on some inexpensive ones? To test.

I have no knowledge of repairing tube equipment, and will more than likely take it to a repair shop or send it off for repairs if I go that route, I just want to see if I am lucky enough to have found one that just needs tubes... fingers crossed!,

Thanks,
James

14635710-EB84-4E20-B03A-19B590840CA1.jpeg C38CA820-8B7D-4D5D-9E32-1F821A7B33DE.jpeg

It looks original to me, at least from the top. A view underneath may help determine things further, but in all likelihood, it's mostly original. The handle on the stereo/mono switch has broken off, but that's not a huge loss. As far as cleaning the chassis, you may want to try 'naval jelly' or somesuch rust remover, but you may also end up removing the markings on the front/back of the chassis (may be a moot point by now, of course, since it'll probably need to be re-plated or painted). As far as tubes go, you'll need four matched EL34s, two 7199s (or 6GH8A/6U8As with an adapter), and a 5AR4/GZ34. I highly suggest checking out my ST-70 restoration page for ideas on where to go from here. Good luck!
-Adam