Finding Equipment in England

Turnip

So this isn't about British equipment directly, but I was wondering how many other people over here manage to find most of their bargains?

I'm new to the scene and only really been looking for the last week or so but been finding it really hard to find anything other than on eBay, which is fine but I'd really hoped to find something not online. The other thing is the eBay doesn't really seem that cheap when I look at people in the USA getting similar items cheaper.

It seems as though most people in America find them at thrift shops. I've found a couple of charity shops selling electrical items, but the only audio equipment they ever have are just cheap things from the 90's and 00's. I've also checked a couple of car boot sales and the only thing I found was a misc. vinyl player which had a layer of dust on so thick I don't think I'd have been able to see any branding if there was any!

Is this an area thing? I'm from the midlands, and I do imagine that near bigger cities there are better places to check.

The best thing I've found is a pair of speakers made by a company in Loughborough in the 80's, which is only about an hour from me, so I might grab them, but I currently have nothing to actually play through them other than TV or PC.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Ok wow, that is pretty useful. Seems I was right in thinking that eBay wasn't showing as much as I suspected it could. Kinda a shame that I have to search for a term though, I like to just generally browse and see what's around. Still, thanks very much for that, sure it's going to come in handy.

what works for me may work for you. look for the upper income areas that audiophile
might have been able to afford the lecsons, quads, leaks, radfords, and such. and
look at the charity shops.

print up a bunch of cards with your contact information, and a "looking for old tube
and audio equipment" and leave them everywhere with the proviso that finders