Going to ReCap my V-M 1428

nmwhitneyjr

I've never done this before, so I'm going to start slow... electrolytics only. According to the Sam's Photofacts, there aren't that many electrolytics to begin with. I plan on restuffing the cans, if possible (but I sent a query to Hayseed Hamfest just in case I lose my nerve). I've done several hours of reading on how to proceed, but I want to know from folks any advice that you would like to have known (but didn’t know) BEFORE you started recapping.

I'm also curious as to what brands of electrolytics seem to do well in older tube amps.

Peace,
Norm

Last edited:
I’ve never recapped an amp, but I’ve built two cmoy headphone amps, a Pete Millet starving student headphone amp (12au7 version), rebuilt the ccu in my old Mercedes w123 diesel, and built crossovers for my Nova 8B speakers.

I’m not a fast solderer, nor a slow solderer... I’m a half-fast solderer...

I guess I should’ve made that clearer.;)

Lots of folks on here like to restuff can caps but I've always found it to be unnecessarily complicated what with having to remove the original can, cut it open, clean out the gunk and then stuff modern caps in there without shorting anything. Then put the can back together again and remount it.

I just leave the original can in place and disconnect it and mount the new caps underneath the chassis, usually in the same area as the original can. From the top, the chassis is visually the same, just as with a restuff. The VMs have quite a bit of space underneath, unlike some other integrated amps and receivers, which makes them relatively easy for a newbie to work on. On something with limited space that needs certain value caps that aren't easily found, the Hayseed ones are undoubtedly the way to go but they do cost more than putting them underchassis. I've never used their services but I know they have a great reputation. Not sure if they allow you to pick the brand of cap or not.