good inexpensive turntables?

SPeeples

I'm fairly new to AK so I hope this is an appropriate question. I'm looking for a new, decent but inexpensive turntable for an otherwise old system (HK300B receiver, Advent speakers). Any suggestions for a tt under $400? Thanks.

U-Turn Orbit (several configurations from $179-459), Fluance Reference Series turntables, $300-500, AT LP-120 $250-300, several Pro-Ject models in that range, those are a few to think about. I own an Orbit and an older Fluance (RT-81) and they've been excellent. U-Turn offers the best direct customer service you're likely to receive, perhaps ever. They're that good.

Semi would be my preference, but I'm good with manual.
Welcome to AK. I don't have first hand experience with any new tables other than the Denon 300 which is automatic. My experience with it is limited but has been good. The Monolith that was mentioned earlier is getting good reviews. I've also read a lot of good reviews on U-Turn and Fluance.

I recently gave my secondary u-turn table to my daughter and put a $249 Fluance RT81 in my bar area and am highly impressed for the money. Only auto function is the platter will stop spinning at the end of the record - which you can turn off. Reasonable built in mm phono stage and build quality too.

I did pop in an LP Gear 95VL stylus. Easy $130 upgrade and totally worth it in my opinion - a fantastic value at ~$400 all in.

upload_2019-2-5_21-42-51.jpeg

I recently gave my secondary u-turn table to my daughter and put a $249 Fluance RT81 in my bar area and am highly impressed for the money. Only auto function is the platter will stop spinning at the end of the record - which you can turn off. Reasonable built in mm phono stage and build quality too.

I did pop in an LP Gear 95VL stylus. Easy $130 upgrade and totally worth it in my opinion - a fantastic value at ~$400 all in.

View attachment 1410756