Good Speakers for HF-20

Walter R

I’m new to Audiokarma. My backup vacuum tube stereo (in the bedroom) is a pair of Eico HF-20s. I bought them 15 years ago when they were still inexpensive and just dusted them off. Right now I’m using them with a pair of Optimus Pro 7 speakers that I already had in my ham shack. Can anyone suggest some good used bookshelf speaker models that would be an upgrade. Most modern speakers have much higher power requirements.
I use a $20 Amazon Bluetooth receiver to feed my MP3 collection into the system from WinAmp on my computer. I’m pleased with the results but am open to suggested alternatives.
TIA
Walter R

Are you open to mid-fields or only bookshelves ?

If so, you can search for a pair of Paradigm 7SE , 5SE , or even 3SE

I think you have a 4 ohm tap on your amp, so, you can remove the crossovers and only use a 8uf film capacitor as tweeter filter.

Are you open to mid-fields or only bookshelves ?

If so, you can search for a pair of Paradigm 7SE , 5SE , or even 3SE

I think you have a 4 ohm tap on your amp, so, you can remove the crossovers and only use a 8uf film capacitor as tweeter filter.

Even the 3SE has an input power requirement of 15 to 150 watts. I’m dubious that I’d get good results with an amp that struggles to put out 20 watts.

20 watts is more than enough with Any speakers with an effeciency rating of 91db or above to more than rattle the 'ol eyeballs.

I use my 7SE with one 8 watts or one 10 watts amplifiers, SE 300B or Push-Pull EL84 , unless I wish to annoy neighbourhood , i don't need more power.

Yeah those HF-20's should have plenty of power to push most any highly efficient speaker system to great SPL levels..........as long as they're pretty much in spec.

Made an offer on a pair of Klipsch KG 1.5s. If that doesn’t get accepted there is a pair of Paradigm 5se in driving distance.