Hantek DSO5102P digital oscilloscope

Discussion in 'DIY' started by c.coyle, Apr 20, 2017.

1. c.coyle

c.coyle Fighting the Dunning-Kruger Effect Subscriber

Anybody using this scope, or other Hantek models?

I'm looking to create some bench space, so I'm thinking of replacing my ancient boat anchor Hitachi V-212 (which has served me well) with a Hantek DSO5102P. $273 from Amazon, including shipping. I like it mostly for the price. Less than Rigol or Owon. My scope needs are very basic and not daily. 100mhz is overkill for audio, but I still fool around with RF, and at that price, why not?

All I want are the basic functions, a small footprint, and reliability for 15 or 20 years.

I have no experience with digital scopes. Good choice or not?

Last edited: Apr 20, 2017
  2. RocketMonkey

RocketMonkey Active Member

I have not used that one but digital is the way to go now that they don't require a blood sacrifice in order to buy one. What I've seen that's annoyed me with cheaper digital stuff is crapy interface and the expected general cheapness. You might look for a youtube video of someone demoing it that isn't affiliated with hantek. Also 4 channels might be worth the cost for audio troubleshooting because you can look at L, R preamp and L, R output simultaneously, handy for intermittent stuff. Anyway if you do get it, or another inexpensive DSO I'd love to hear how it works out. I'm regetting my TDS210 now that all these new cheapies are being almost universally praised. My old tek is two channel, too slow for RF and the screen is a joke compared to the cheapest modern DSO. Good luck. Oh and FFT test out the FFT.

3. Alan0354

Alan0354 Well-Known Member

That's very good price, I am curious how it works. I always own Tek old scope.

4. elnaldo

elnaldo AK Subscriber Subscriber