MPB

Hello,

Before I begin I must say that I am a novice. I currently have a Pro-Ject Debut turntable going through a Pro-Ject Phono Box II preamp. The sound is great however, it is only coming out of one speaker. If I flip the RCA cables, the audio will switch from left to right. I have a different turntable that I plugged in to the exact same configuration and it works properly. Any advice? My knowledge is limited and I am running out of troubleshooting. Any advice is welcomed!

MPB

Pull the leads off of the cartridge, look to see if they are tight and in the right location, re-instal and test.

Another thing you can do if you have a multi meter is to ohm out the cartridge. I've heard it was rare, but I've had three cartridges with a dead channel. The meter test identified them as open on one channel.

be careful testing cartridges with a meter as the coils on some rare ones can burn out with the power from the meter .
best bet is swap wires left for right at the cartridge and see what happens

be careful testing cartridges with a meter as the coils on some rare ones can burn out with the power from the meter .
best bet is swap wires left for right at the cartridge and see what happens
That is the first time I have ever heard this. Hard to believe considering every electronics repair facility depends on the use of the multimeter for everything.

Also, you may have a bad connection somewhere in the tonearm wiring. To test, use your DMM and set it to continuity ( I think that's the term) which tells you if you have a good connection between two points - if you do it will give an audible beep. Put one lead on the wire connector from the headshell and the other on the end of the turntables headshell jack - just make sure you are connecting + to + or - to -. I have found some bad solder joints and crimped headshell wires this way. At the least it can rule out the headshell wiring.