Hickock OSC-4 oscilloscope troubleshooting.

maxhifi

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I've been doing a lot of service work lately, and my oscilloscope has got worse and worse. Basically, keeping it in synch has become extremely critical. I have to mess with the Vernier and sync amp a lot to get it to be stable, and then when the amplitude of the signal changes, it again goes out of synch. I did a quick replacement of all the paper capacitors today, but the electrolytics are still original. Also, I have tried swapping tubes around, and replacing them, to no end.

Of course, I would like to check the waveforms the synch amp is making, but unfortunately this is the only scope I have.

Any help would be appreciated, it's my first time working on the scope.

Ref: https://www.oscilloscopemuseum.com/o...4s40-1437.html

I love my test equipment and I have reasons for using the models I have, regardless of others opinions. :biggrin:
So I have to ask. What is your reason to keep this particular one in cal?

I love my test equipment and I have reasons for using the models I have, regardless of others opinions. :biggrin:
So I have to ask. What is your reason to keep this particular one in cal?

I've had it since the early 1990s, and it's always been my eyes and ears when troubleshooting. I have tried newer scopes, but I really prefer the big round screen, and the control layout of this one. With audio stuff you don't need a high end scope to see signal distortion, or power supply ripple, etc.

I also like how it has a proper attenuator on the input, and some nicer features than my extremely basic EICO 425. The 425 definitely wins in appearance though. I have been studying how scopes work, and I believe the issue is called over synchronization. I dug out the old EICO, and amazingly it actually works after not being used for almost 20 years. I did change the filters back in the 1990s. I think I can use the EICO to check the sync waveform in the OSK-4, and get things sorted out.