How to fix DC offset with no trim pots available?

Moving Ahead

Hi, I'm new this audiokarma and I'm new to repairing vintage amplifiers. I have hit a brick wall and I'm in need of some technical help.
I have several amps (early 70's) without variable trim pots to align the DC offset.
1/ What can I do to the circuit to better align the DC measurements in such circumstances?
2/ Is there a particular element (ie: cap/ resistor/ transistor/diode ) that the manufacturer put in place instead of a trim pot to regulate DC offset?

This question is directed not at one particular model amp but rather as a general means of amplifier repair. I'm also not concerned to get DC offset perfect in these circumstances but if I can get it somewhat closer to zero, I'll be willing to give it a go.

I hope I can get some help with this, as I feel I need to overcome this problem before I can proceed to the next level.
Many thanks for your help with this problem in advance.

I'm interested in this as well. I always see the advice to replace the differential pair as a fix. I've done that and yes the DC offset is lowered but not zeroed. There must be more to the story. Why is the DC there to begin with?

Because nothing is ever perfect. Once mfgr's switched to split-rail DC coupling for SS output stages, the DC blocking capacitor used in early SS single-supply designs went away. Now it's a matter of using high-gain input stages to track the output DC as well as possible (and associated protection circuitry to protect the speakers if something goes wrong).