Just bought a Eico HF 65 pre nos kit

drtool

It might get loud In Houston
Subscriber
Anything I should double check before I break out my soldering iron? No tubes :no:, rats. My first stand a lone tube pre. Can not wait to compare it to my APT/Holman.

I have some experience building N.O.S electronic kits and can give you some basic advices:

1) Electrolytic caps have a finite shelf life and deteriorates if not used. They need to be checked for leakage, capacitance, and slowly reformed. If you don't know what this means and how to proceed better to buy new caps.

2) Resistors and other parts are more stable but should be checked before starting the assembly. Remember these parts are 50+ years old now and way beyond their expected life.

3) As the parts were not hermetically sealed they will be all affected by some corrosion depending on the storage conditions. This will highly compromise the soldering process, and a good quality soldering is essential for a reliable finished product. Before starting the assembly you MUST carefully clean and desoxidize ALL contacts which will be soldered later, this includes: tags, lug terminal strips, tube sockets , pots, selectors and switches, solder terminals and lugs, etc... dry cleaning is the best and I use Fiberpens and Eraser pencils (less agressive) which are very convenient and easy to use (see pictures). All parts must be bright and shiny before you install them in the chassis for soldering. Pre-tinning some parts like terminal lugs could also help. This might sound excessively laborious but will greatly facilitate the soldering process and contributes to the quality of the finished product.