Kenwood 700M vs. the newbie

DrumminDaddy

Hit it, Baby !!
Before I get into describing the situation with the 700m, just a brief bio on myself.
I am a machinist by trade with some years spent as a CNC repair tech. Most machine tool electrical faults involve switches and relays. The modus operandi for troubleshooting board level faults is to determine correct inputs/outputs. If the correct readings aren't seen, the board gets replaced. We aren't trained to look at discrete components on the boards. If the chips ain't flyin', the machine's not making money. The cost of a whole new board pales in comparison to the down time. Get in / get out. $$$. Obviously, that's not an option here. I have never done a repair on an amplifier before other than to clean some scratchy switches. So I decide that the 700m is going to be my first project (somebody stop me !! ).

That being said, my goals are simply:
1) Do no more harm.
2) Learn, have fun at it.
3) Achieve a working amp. (Perhaps the full monty by EchoWars at a later time...)

The scenario:
Upon recieving my 'new' amp, in my zeal to listen to this new toy, I turn it on and a couple seconds later hear the speaker relays click in. Titties!
Well, not so fast. Just wanting to hear some music through it, I plug in my headphones, and poof! Out comes a whisp of the magic smoke. Nuts!! (Well, that's not quite how I put it at the time.)

So off comes the cover and looking around, I do believe that I may be the first one inside (feeling a little naughty!).

I see R114 and R113 to the headphone jack L/R are roasty well done. Put a meter on the outputs and read 70vdc on both channels.

Lesson learned:
Check the DC offset on any unknown amp BEFORE hooking a load to it!