Magnavox 175-67 - channel 2 help needed

Dig22

Hi,
I'm a newbie, and aware of the high voltage dangers.

I picked up a Magnavox 175-67 TT console with pre-amp/receiver. I replaced a few of the caps, added a fuse and 3-prong plug. Channel 1 works fine. But Channel 2...I'm stumped. The balance pot doesn't do anything.

I'd appreciate advice on where to begin tracing the problem, and if someone had schematics to share, that would be grand.

Thanks!

Hi & welcome! Some pis would help.

Make sure that the speakers are connected properly. With most Magnavox amplifiers, the speaker terminals are "C", "1", and "2" where "C" is both speakers Common or negative and 1 and 2 are the left & right speaker positives respectfully.

Swap the tubes. Swap two (one channel) of the 6V6GT's and the one 12AX7 tube to the other channel and vice versa.

I can do these amps in my sleep. Maybe try to take a good pic of the underside and I or someone else might be able to point out a discrepancy of some sort.

Maybe try a phone or CD player into the two main amp inputs to see if the problem is either in the tuner/preamp or the amp itself.

Is your balance pot an actual balance pot? I ask because my 175-67 had the actual channel balance pot on the tuner/preamp hidden under the bass control. My amp only had the hum balance control on the amp itself.

Hi & welcome! Some pis would help.

Make sure that the speakers are connected properly. With most Magnavox amplifiers, the speaker terminals are "C", "1", and "2" where "C" is both speakers Common or negative and 1 and 2 are the left & right speaker positives respectfully.

Swap the tubes. Swap two (one channel) of the 6V6GT's and the one 12AX7 tube to the other channel and vice versa.

I can do these amps in my sleep. Maybe try to take a good pic of the underside and I or someone else might be able to point out a discrepancy of some sort.