Making bacon....The downside

Henry Kloss

Since I got my smoker for Christmas, I've done up about 100 lbs. of bacon. All I have to show for it is about 10 lbs. in the freezer and a hoard of happy friends and relatives. The downside is, everyone thinks I can supply all their bacon needs for money.
I enjoy making bacon, but I'm up to about 15 lbs. or 1 batch every 2 weeks to keep up with demand. It's too much work.
The moral of the story is. If you decide to make bacon, don't tell anyone. It's too late for me, save yourselves.

Some pics. of my last batch.

This is a whole belly meat side, that's my big chefs knife for comparison.

016.JPG

This is fat side, skin removed.

017.JPG

Painted with maple syrup and ready to go into the smoker.

034.JPG

In the smoker for 8 hours
037.JPG 039.JPG
Above is my smoker with the cold smoke attachment. It lets me keep the temp down to 80 to 90 degrees. This way I can smoke for longer without cooking the bacon.

as a certified bacon accountant, i would advise you to increase your prices and expand your operation. do not let silly notions of "family" or "friends" stand in the way of your bacon wealth

I'd say they have to help on a Saturday to do all the work.....for yours also while you sit on a stool ! Just remind them of the old saying....."you can give a man to fish (a slab of bacon) or you can teach him how to fish (smoke his own bacon) and he'll eat (smoke his own bacon) forever" !

Then again how can anyone eat that much bacon and live to see sixty ????

9d52f4547a5e69c7b83717c84eeacb2b.jpg

Where do you find the meat? I presume at some kind of specialty meat place. I've never seen that cut in a grocery store. Also that is some seriously meaty bacon.

I feel your pain, I'll be making 36 pounds of pulled pork tomorrow and I probably won't get more than 1 or 2 sandwiches lol

Funny how many parties I got invited to after I learned how to make decent BBQ lol