Mcintosh MC30s Restoration (Looking for correct schematic)

Tysen

Hey folks,

I recently acquired a pair of MC30s off of this great site! I'm going to restore them, and I understand there is the "Hints & Kinks" thread, but I'm trying to consolidate to one thread because I'm very new to this.

The first question I have is in regards to the schematic. Both amps have A-152-D and A-150-C transformers.

The only clear schematics I can find is the A-152-B schematic. Can anyone help with this? I assume I can't use that schematic.

Serial numbers are in the 150xxxx range.

There's not that much difference in the circuit topologies to make that much of a difference on MC-30s - especially for restoration purposes. Your priorities are:

- Power supply rebuild - caps primarily

- Interstage coupling caps - they all gotta go

- Bias circuit - replace selenium rectifier and electrolytics. Then you'll need to adjust the bias voltage resistors to achieve proper bias voltage on the grids of the output tubes.
That's where the Hints and Kinks thread helps - discusses how to use a variac to adjust it.

- Lastly, some us (me included) have discovered that most of the resistors will change value after the above items are done and it has been run for a while.

There are plenty of threads here at AK so 'nuff said here. Done up properly, these amps will sing again!

Cheers,

David

Here's the schematic for that version. There are just a few differences in this latest iteration of the amp - a couple of extra caps. The hand written value notes on the schematic are not mine and I haven't checked if they're accurate.

PM me if this isn't large enough and I can email it to you.

Attachments

• MC30_sch.pdf
    61.7 KB · Views: 53
David, thanks for the advise. I'm ordering authenticaps for the power supply, sprague atoms for the other three electrolytic caps, and then Russian PIOs for the remaining. I'll also get the diode and resistor to replace the selenium rectifier.