My AK Fest Experience; First and Probably My Last.

Status
Not open for further replies.

SubWolfer

One caveat before I give y’all my perspective. I'm a noob and this is a total noob's perspective of AK Fest. But we're all entitled to our opinion and I wanted to share my experience. So please don't get angry or flame me.

First off, I’m certainly no expert on hi-fi audio, as I have only recently been bitten by the vintage audio bug. As far as really high-end two channel audio components go, I have very limited experience. Never-the-less, I discovered this really friendly forum and have nothing but good things to say about AK.org; Very friendly people, excellent info and mostly very helpful advice from AK members.

I read and perused various forums here on AK, asking for help and advice. In doing so, discovered and read about AK Fest. Well, since I reside here in Michigan and AK Fest was being held practically right in my backyard, I told a buddy of mine (who was quite surprised by my sudden interest in hi-fi audio and vintage stereo) about it. I asked him if he wanted to go check it out. He could not make it on Saturday, which was fine with me because I felt it might be very crowded that day, and plus, May 3 was the first Saturday in May, Kentucky Derby Day!

Sunday morning my buddy and I went to the AK Fest and arrived about 10:00 AM. Very nice hotel very friendly people, But I'm going to be totally honest and not sugarcoat anything.. My very brief and blunt perception was… a big let-down. I thought it was really lame and so did my buddy. We were both totally disappointed and felt it was highly over-rated.