My Dynaco SCA35 died tonight - well, a part of it

tri_pod

Hello Everyone

As the subject said and I need some help for a dufus, please.

I wanted to listen to some youtube stuff and got no sound. I played a record (selected Phono) and got sound. For youtube and other computer sound, I use "Spare" which is the problem.

I touched the cover and it felt very hot - much hotter than usually - more or less directly above those 6 tubes. And I switched off immediately and removed the wallplug.

This amp was rebuilt about 1 year ago by a local tech who imo did a very good job. Somewhere on AK are pics of the restore and about a month ago, I heard some very faint crackling a minute or so after switch on. This sound disappeared after about 2minutes after switch on and maybe I should have taken this as a pre-warning of something going south.

I am a total novice diagnostically but can solder very well and replace parts I can visually see overheated and the tech which did the rebuild for me is no longer available.

All the fitted tubes are still Dynaco-branded originals, btw.

Tomorrow, in daytime, I will take off the bottom cover, have a look and take some pics incase I can see the origin of overheating so much.

Please help.

Cheers all

tri_pod

Could be many things but first and easiest thing to check is the tubes, specifically the output tubes. Since they are original they are nearly 60 y.o. You can test them and see where they measure, but really if you don't have any back up tubes, I would get a matched quad of EL84M or 6P14P-EB.

yes, it does sound like a tube issue, especially if the tubes are still the originals, especially the crackling, which more often than not is tube related. Also, as you mentioned, take some inside shots so that we can see what was rebuilt in your SCA-35.
Having a complete spare set of tubes for your SCA-35 is good insurance, so as has already been suggested if you do not have a spare set, buy a set and keep them for when things go south!