1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

New Capacitors reading well out of allowable spec....

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by PK Vintage, Nov 7, 2018.

1. PK Vintage

PK Vintage Active Member

I purchased a dozen or so Electrolytic 72uf Alcaps. Recently I decided to check them with my multi meter to see how close they were to spec. 1 was 74 and the rest were 81 to 83. I also checked Several 5% Mundorf Electrolytic Ecaps that read 22. That is 50% above Spec.

This does not sound good enough to me. I am no expert though.

All the PP caps I tested read very close to spec.

With these caps that far out of spec would it not make sense to go by the readings when placing them in a crossover and not by what is printed on casing? or just not use them at all.

Thanks

Please register to disable this ad.

2. embrown057

embrown057 Active Member

I went over this with Jeff @Sonicraft some time ago. He even said he had sent back several that did not meet spec. I would suggest if you need to order them again for another project have them matched. That will give you some assurance they are close to spec. Also testing them on a multi meter is not the ideal test, ESR meter with multi frequency is best and only reliable way.

kryten79 likes this.
  3. StimpyWan

StimpyWan AK Subscriber Subscriber

Capacitance meters vary quite a bit, in how accurate they are. And they vary at what frequency they test at as well. The manufacturer may test at a different frequency that what your meter is capable of testing. This will result in a difference in value. So, for peace of mind, I get Parts Connexion and Sonic Craft, to pretest my capacitors. Both companies can provide matched pairs, and Sonic Craft will match at tolerances tighter than stock.

slimecity likes this.
  4. toddalin

toddalin Super Member