New Cornwall I owner needing opinions

MooCorn

Hi to everyone. I just got my dad's Cornwall I pair (1982/B2 xover) as he is downsizing. I'm no audiophile, but these are nice sounding and he kept them in great condition.

I admit that I stink on AC circuits, but I measured all the crossovers (in circuit). The readings all matched (within 10%), except that the 20uF cap has an ESR of 16ohm while the other one is only 4ohm. I also could not get a reading with my induction meter on the 245 coil on one speaker. I'd really rather not desolder these to get better readings as I have never worked on oil caps before.

Both speakers seem to 'work'. I get distinct output from each tweeter, squawker, and woofer, but with the inductor possibly being bad, am I going to get distortions on some frequencies?

I'm very careful when repairing things, but is the diaphragm likely to split/crack if I remove it to clean out the grooves in the magnets?

As 'luck' would have it, I just replaced the run cap in my outside air conditioner with an aerovox part that looks remarkably like the 20uF. Besides the uF rating, they were both 100V with similar part#s. Is this really what Klipsch used all those years ago??? It seems useless to spend big $$$ on a recap kit when I can goto my local A/C shop and get the same stuff for 1/3 of the price!

I don't have a manual for these. What gauge wire is needed for hookup? The wire inside the speakers is huge compared to what I use now. Did the Cornwalls originally come with a chart of each speakers test results?

A shoutout tester/inspectors Mark Black, Judy Purtle and Sherry Stroud if they are still at Klipsch!

You put a cap rated for 100v in your ac?!?!

Assuming this is a residential split system, they need 370 minimum. We only sell 440