New member, Hello.....

Killrocks

Hi folks. New member here. I'm a drummer and musician out of Phoenix AZ, formerly the midwest. I've been stuck in 90s Chinese audio hell since my purchase of a Pioneer A/V receiver with 8" sub and 4" full range satellites for 20 years, but recently got the itch to recreate some of my Goodwill and Rummage Sale finds that I had accumulated as a teenager in the 80s. My rig back then at it's apex included a Montgomery Wards GEN 6901A - I had no idea what it actually was and have been searching for it on Ebay for about a year. Never found one - but I stumbled across a member here who posted a pic of one and said "Hey THAT'S THE ONE I HAD!" I used it to drive a pair of Sears brand two way 8"/2" speakers, with a used Soundesign cassette deck (later a Realistic), and a REALLY old Sears brand turntable that I spun my first 45 rpm record on (Abracadabra by Steve Miller Band) as well as Styx, Van Halen, and Dio records.

I upgraded my speakers to a pair of Utah Electronics 12" three ways bartered from a friend, then upgraded my receiver to a Realistic STA something or other in 1989. It was identical to a STA 115 but used small horizontal buttons instead of the large square buttons.

This rig served me amazingly well until 1998 when we "upgraded" to a Pioneer "China mart" A/V receiver package as outlined above. I set it up and cranked a CD and was terribly disappointed in the sound. I upgrade my front R/L speakers to a serviceable set of Polk Audio two ways, and while it cleaned up and smoothed out the high end and overall presence, the sound being fed to them was obviously flat and muddy, with audible distortion setting in at a stupidly low volume setting. Unfortunately, my Realistic unit is long gone, the Utah speakers as well. Although they had REALLY solid, slightly muddy bottom end, the mid and high end of the Utahs were, I thought, quite harsh and tinny.