New to me Nikko Alpha III

uncynd

Purchased a Nikko alpha 3 and beta 2, the beta 2 pots (guessing the balance) were creating an almost inaudible left channel. After some cleaning all seemed great. Alpha 3 was actually a bit brighter than I expected and overall after cleaning the beta I was very happy.

Today I decided to check the amp's (Alpha III) DC offset at the terminals. The left channel was perfect near 0, however the right channel tests almost exactly 30mv offset consistently. While I have some electronics experience I haven't got a clue what to do, if anything, about this. I could clean every board in the amp (literally the only thing I can think of) I thought about adjusting the bias but I don't think that would help since one channel is so clean. I'm looking for some guidance on how to diagnose and repair this. Thanks!

P.S. I have tested the output from the preamp and both leads test 0 offset.

You need to learn about the amp. 30 isn't too bad but I know you want it at zero. Most here live with anything less than 15 some as high as 50.

But you need to find the service manual on the amp and see what is used to control the offset. Whether it is adjustable, good, or is set by a pair of matched transistors which over the years may have become unmatched. You have electronics experience so there is what I have learned over the years, having swapped the transistors in a Hafler DH-200 to get the offset close to zero.

Ahh ok found the manual and looks like there is a pot to adjust DC balance, thanks! II don't really understand why I am to short the DC inputs on adjustment but I'll do it anyway lol.