No Sound from NAD 7240PE

ramair02

Hi all,

I'm a total novice with this stuff, so the help is much appreciated.

I have a NAD 7240PE from the 80's that was my father's. I commandeered it to set up with a new U-Turn turntable and new Pioneer BS22 speakers. The amp has been in my parent's basement for the last 10 years, but worked fine prior.

I got everything hooked up last night, turned on everything, but... no sound. No static from the Tuner, no hissing or buzz, and no sound from the Phono input. The amp powers up and shows the radio station on the display, but for some reason isn't working.

I've been trying to read and research online and it seems a lot of people have fixed these amps fairly easily. I just don't know where to start. I read about the four fuses, so I'll check those today, but what else can I identify visually? And how can I get this thing running again?

Here's a pic of the back, as well as a pic of how it's hooked up: https://imgur.com/gallery/OZx2l

Thanks, all.

Firstly, get a copy of the service manual from hifiengine. You need to register (to prevent robot attacks) it is safe
No mention of your skill level and tools available.
Do you have a digital multimeter?
Are you comfortable taking voltage measurements with the amp "live"/powered up?

The amp has joining links at the rear that allow you to separate it into the preamp stage and the power stage.
This allows you to use other pre and power stages. Do you have other equipment with similiar links or a
seperate pre or power amp. By running tests you can isolate the problem as being in pre or power stage.

Many reasons for no sound. Since both channels are affected the power supply would be a good starting point.
As a guess I would say the power supply to the preamp is down. Can you measure the dc voltage at R311 and 312
as shown in the pic, either leg is fine

You should also visually check for any leaking capacitors, NAD has bad history in this area.

Capture.JPG