Pilot 210 preamp/260 amp loud buzz

Discussion in 'Tube Audio' started by ronton3, Jan 11, 2018 at 8:12 AM.

1. ronton3

ronton3 ronton3

I have a Pilot 260 amp recapped, sounds great. I have a Pilot 210 preamp that draws power from the 260, I have never used it before because of loud hum. One of the can caps had leaked, so I just replaced the 2 can caps, and the rectifier with 4007 diodes. I hooked the pair up and they sounded really good, I was so happy, there was a very slight hum, from the 210(the 260 has been silent). I ran the the Sheffield XLO test CD, and then turned them off. Two hours later I turned them on and there is very loud, buzzing, hum that the volume control turns down. I ran the 260 with a Fisher 100-T preamp tuner and it is fine. I hope someone can tell me what is the problem. Thanks ron

2. cademan

cademan Addicted Member

Usually when hum is volume dependent, it is something relatively simple such as ground loops, bad patch cords or connections.

3. gadget73

gadget73 junk junkie Subscriber

Do you have the hum on both channels, or just one? All inputs, phono only, specific inputs? Does it make the same noise with no source hooked up to the preamp?

Have you checked to see if the voltages in the power supply on the SP-210 match up with the schematic? Its a slightly odd arrangement with the way it has resistors to ground.

The way this one controls volume makes it hard to use that to determine things. It cuts signal into the preamp tubes, but also cuts output from the preamp right at the output jacks. Bit unusual, I'd hate to have to source a replacement volume pot. 4 section with loudness taps? Yikes.

4. ronton3

ronton3 ronton3