Pioneer SX 2500 (No AM/FM)

cbertrand

Hi all, I recently picked up a Pioneer SX 2500 to use as a phono preamp. I took it apart and cleaned everything and it is working well as a preamp. The speaker outputs also work when it is switched in to amp mode.

However, I get no sound for AM or FM, no fuzz, nothing. I imagine that power is not making it there but I need someone to point me in the right direction to start troubleshooting. I am not experienced (yet) in component level electronic repair so please talk slow :)

So far in my new hobby I have gotten a Technics SL-1900 pluged into this Pioneer SX 2500 as a preamp and that is going into my Denon reciever for my surround sound. So far, so fun! I would love to fix the tuner, then I would feel justified buying the bulbs/leds to fix all the missing lights.

Usually there is a separate power supply for the tuner sections. 12 ish volts. Find the manual and start investigating. Could be a fuse. No time this morning to look over the manual myself.

I will pull it apart tomorrow, I already have the manual I am just worried I will fry something. Is there a good tutorial you would recomend on tracing the power flow? I have a good multi meter. Also what is the best way to ID the incoming power to a given board? Sorry for the n00b questions :)

Should have asked if there is any meter movement at all. Do the tuning or signal meter move when trying to tune in a station. Assumed they were dead. If they are probable power supply.

If you have clips attach leads with the power off. Many a unit has been made worse by errant probes. I would start by measuring the output of the power supply. You would be mainly concerned with B3 and 4.. 12 and 13 volts. If there. Then you may have to check each section and check for voltage in the circuit. If the voltage is no there, then check the resistors and transistors in the power supply.