Pioneer SX 828 vs. SX 780

orriginal

I am still learning how to read spec sheets. Can someone give me a layman's rundown on the key differences between these two receivers, other than appearance?

Anyone have both and developed a preference?

They are both lovely and I'm sure I won't be disappointed with either.

I am still learning how to read spec sheets. Can someone give me a layman's rundown on the key differences between these two receivers, other than appearance?

Perhaps if you were to post the spec sheets, you might get some answers. Expecting everyone else to chase this down is a bit presumptuous on your part.

Regards,
Jerry

These are two well known and loved receivers. I was hoping that someone would give me their impressions of the two machines and their differences. Not asking anyone to do leg work for me.

My only presumption is based on my experience that people on this forum are generally knowledgeable and helpful. If you don’t want to help, don’t comment.

The 828 uses discreet outputs and has a rather warm sound when compared to the 780 with it's STK modules.

You can get replacement transistors fairly easily for the 828, the STK modules for the 780 are available but quality is spotty at best.

The 828 requires specific speaker connectors that are available on eBay while the 780 will accept bare wire.

I have owned both at one time or another and liked the 828 more but I like chocolate ice cream, you may not.

Of you can find an 838 or 939 you would get the discreet outputs without the funky speaker connections.

I still have an 838 if that tells you anything.

The 828 uses discreet outputs and has a rather warm sound when compared to the 780 with it's STK modules.

You can get replacement transistors fairly easily for the 828, the STK modules for the 780 are available but quality is spotty at best.

The 828 requires specific speaker connectors that are available on eBay while the 780 will accept bare wire.