question about cartridge/stylus

Jason!978

I have recently bought a Philips 677 turntable and it's really doing good so far. The question is it came with an Audio Technica AT88E cartridge/stylus. I think this cartridge/stylus is no longer produced, so I was wondering if there are any stylus's that will fir the AT88E cartridge? Or if I am better off buying a new cartridge/stylus? I am considering the Nagaoka MP-110 it is around $110 and I've seen nothing but good reviews. Also this headshell on this turntable is not the straight kind of headshell it is a curved/bent type, that goes on a straight arm turntable and I was wondering what headshell is recommended for this? I see the replacement for the Audio Technica LP3 is similar but not sure if it will fit exactly. I am not an expert at this stuff yet, I've never set up a stylus but I went to vinyl engine and downloaded a protractor, I might just buy one for $10 on amazon though as the paper one didn't really print out the right size, and a real one might be easier to use. But thought I'd see if the AT88E is worth buying a stylus for or if I should just go with something totally new, I am not sure if the AT88E was a high or low end stylus/cartridge, it sounds decent, but I am unsure how much of that is the new preamp I bought the Art DJpre 2 phono preamp and it really helped I think.

You can get generic styli for 15 bucks, and AT styli for about 50. If the stylus on the cartridge now is long in the tooth, I'd suggest getting a generic and using it until you have a better sense of what you are looking for. Cartridges have their own sound, and appeal to different tastes. And different cartridges work better or worse in different arms. Until you know what you like, and whether is will work well in the Philips, 110 is a lot of money to spend as a shot in the dark.