Question About Old Reel Tapes

jmiles1960

I have several reel tapes with recorded material from the 70's. When I played them the other day, they were full of "drop outs". I am guessing the magnetic coating / recording is fading due to their age. They have been sitting (stored) for 25+ years. Are these tapes reusable? They are good quality tapes which really surprised me - Maxell, Scotch, etc.... looks like my old recordings are toast! They were stored in a cool, dry place, no sun light, etc.... is this typical for RTR tapes? Should I toss these old tapes? If I had played these tapes regularly, would that have prevented them from going bad? Thanks for the advice.

I'm no expert, but I can tell you from practical experience that tapes have a definitive shelf life, even if stored under ideal conditions. I got a whole box of open reel tapes that were good quality in their day, but were unusable, even after attempts to record over them with very high quality tape machines. Later open reel tapes by Maxell, TDK, Scotch and others hold up better. If they are toast about the only good use you might get out of them is the empty reels and storage boxes. :yes:

Sounds like the tape binders have given up. It could be worse I guess. A common base material for tape used to be acetate, which twisted and rotted with age...plus the binders always dried out. :no:

If the tapes are not acetate you might look into "baking" them to bring them back to better quality. Just check the web for this process. :smoke:

You need to be more specific in your post. Saying something along the lines of Maxel, TDK, Scotch, BASF, Ampex tells me nothing. The fact is that some old tapes are golden, and some are trash. You simply can't just lump them all together.

Tell us the specific manufacturers, and tape models and then we can answer meaningfully.