Question about tube bias

seanrr

I recently got my first amps that have adjustable bias. They are Antique Sound Labs 1006-845 monoblocks that have had a bunch of mods done to them by previous owners. I have attached some photos, including one of the guts to show the cap replacements, etc. It has also been modded to be driven by 12SX7 tubes rather than 6NS7 tubes. Thus far, they sound very nice indeed, but I do have a question about bias. These have manual bias with digital readouts. As I understand it, the amps should play at about 800 on the meters. While I have them set close to that, the bias seems to bounce around a bit, sometimes going down to 789 or up to 810. Is that normal? Anything else I should know about the importance of the bias, etc.? I am not an engineer - so, bias for dummies would be preferable, and it is even better if there is anybody else with these amps who can tell me about their experience with the bias controls.

Bias wandering up and down some % is normal, caused by mains voltage fluctuation, tube temp etc.
Whatever you should do now is talk to previous owner and demand a schematics on the changes made.

Bias wandering up and down some % is normal, caused by mains voltage fluctuation, tube temp etc.
Whatever you should do now is talk to previous owner and demand a schematics on the changes made.

Thanks - what percentage is normal? These amps wander about 2%. I will see what schematics I can get - I think the switch from 6SN7 to 12SX7 was merely a change in plate voltage. Other than that, I think other mods have only involved replacing original caps with high-end ones - mostly Jensen - both PIO and electrolytic.

Thanks - what percentage is normal? These amps wander about 2%. I will see what schematics I can get - I think the switch from 6SN7 to 12SX7 was merely a change in plate voltage. Other than that, I think other mods have only involved replacing original caps with high-end ones - mostly Jensen - both PIO and electrolytic.