Question for the Roadies

crackerkorean

Striving for Polymathdom!
I am looking to hang a modern drive train on my 80s bianchi (ishiwata 220) frame and was wondering.

Shimano, SRAM, or Campy?

I am torn, I do not have much experience with either SRAM or Campy. I was thinking Shimano (the bike is made in japan), but thought Campy (Bianchi is Italian). But also thought SRAM since its just different.

Was thinking the midline level of components (105-Ultegra).

I was also thinking just to be different and if I can afford it to do non standard brakes, crank etc. Was looking at Stronglight for the crankset (newer ones) and maybe Zero G for the brakes.

Granted all this is based on availability used and prices.

You can't go wrong with Shimano, SRAM, or Campy...you need to try them out and see what "fits" you the best.
Shimano 105 and Ultegra are nice components and won't break your budget.
I went from a low end Shimano to Sram Red....I like the double-tap system of Sram...

I worked as a wrench in a shop for a while and know my way around it all, just never got to ride it.

I did ride a campy equipped bob jackson in the parking lot and it was fine, but didnt get a great feel for it.

What is the double tap system, that came out after I left the shop.

All my vintage Italian frames (4) are equipped with modern 10 speed Campagnolo. It is an easy conversion, and the Centaur level components I believe are the best bang for the buck. I have yet to try SRAM, but prefer the Campagnolo over Shimano, for a whole bunch of reasons.....

Better ergonomics
better aesthetics
better trimming on the FD, especially if you run a triple
multiple gear changes with one push of the button
shifts are smoother and shifters are rebuild-able

I will have to see what I can find, I like the idea of a Campy setup.