Question on subwoofers

Jim H B

Hi, I'm still fairly new to subwoofers, but do find that they can fill out the sound of my 2 channel audio setups nicely.

With the typical powered subwoofer, there are two inputs - a set of one or two rca inputs (LFE or line level), and inputs using speaker wire.

I usually use old school two channel stereo receivers, with no dedicated subwoofer output, but with outputs for two sets of speakers.

I assume I would use one set of speaker outputs for the two stereo speakers, and use the other speaker outputs to run speaker wire to the subwoofer - and make sure to set my receiver to output to both speaker outputs ( a + b).

My question - when using this type of input to the sub, does the amplifier in the sub still play a role, ie, does it amplify the speaker wire input?

Also - I know I can hook up my stereo speakers to the speaker wire outs on the sub, but for some reason, I'm hesitant to do that - I like the sound of my receiver, why not hook my speakers up to it? But I'm open to other reasoning, or experience in this area.

Thanks for any input.

Ya kinda lost me here but I';; try to explain a speaker level subwoofer hookup/

Obviously, you connect your amp's speaker outputs to the sub's speaker inputs. You knew that.

Now, about your mains, you have several options:

The simplest is to simply keep then connected to your amp. No harm will come to your amp.
Some subwoofers do offer speaker outputs. All these do is take the signal from your main amp and pass them out to your mains. These are simply a convenience and don't affect the sound

But, some, not all, subwoofers will strip out the lows from your mains because the sub will be handling that. This might afford a cleaner sound since your mains won't be trying to reproduce the very low signals.

I usually use old school two channel stereo receivers, with no dedicated subwoofer output, but with outputs for two sets of speakers.