Question regarding Denon DCD-1000

Andrei

Hi guys!
I got a vintage Denon DCD-1000 cd player. Paid around 30 USD for it. It's a player from 1985/6. Quite a rare player but you can still find it rather cheap on ebay.
I don't know very much about cd players so I searched the net about some specific info on this model. I found something in a High Fidelity Magazine from that era that says that the Denon DCD-1000 has and I quote: "the world's first DAC that's hand-tuned for reduced D/A transfer distortion, plus real-time phase correction". As I said, I'm not technical savvy that's why I'm asking: is this (and I'm referring to the world's first hand-tuned DAC) of some historical significance? Is this something really interesting, something that really changed the sound for the better?
The player sounds really ok, has a deep soundstage and a somehow lush sound.
Thanks!

It's a nice entry level Denon cd player. It can have either KSS-121A / KSS-123A laser pickup. If it has the second one, it should be a better sounding unit. A little mod should make it sound alot better. Joe

Replace the caps and opamps after the DAC. If you have a soldering iron, you should do it yourself. I can do it for you but you have to ship the board to me. I don't have the schematics on this model but I can do the mod if I have the cd player or board with me. It should be about $50-60 excluding shipping cost. To remove the board you have to remove all the connections and label them. let me know if you are further interested. Joe