Recapping vintage Nikko separates

BrandonS2185

Hello. I am pretty new with rehabbing vintage gear but recently (and successfully) recapped a Marantz 6300 with no issue. My question is, I just got a free Nikko Alpha 220, Beta 20, and Gamma 20 set. I know they aren't amazing but free is a pretty good price. I'd like to do a recap of the preamp and power amp and have the service manuals and know the values of all the caps. I'd like to tap into this forums deep knowledge base so I'll treat this thread as my personal HELP! page.

My first problem/question is when I get on digi key to order cap replacements I get several options for lead pitch. Is there an efficient way to measure lead pitch or do I actually need to get out a caliper and measure? I'm looking at over 50 caps and that would be annoying. I figure the difference between 2.5 and 5mm really won't be a big deal but I'd like things to fit nicelly.

My second question is regarding the volume attenuator on the preamp. It is really scratchy/crackly when I turn the knob but it is a sealed pot. The manufacturer of the pot is Noble and I have the part number but can't locate it on their site. I emailed them and they aren't responding. Any help for fixing/replacing would be great. I'm uploading a pic of the piece. It is listed as 100kohm x2. It is a 6 terminal design (3x2).

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_1572.JPG
    IMG_1572.JPG
    59.3 KB · Views: 66
There may be holes where the pins protrude from the pot body on the side soldered to the pcb. I would turn the unit upside down, spray some contact cleaner in between the pcb and pot. Some may get in. This will be an older part and not likely on their website. Try also setting the unit on its back and spraying cleaner on the shaft. Some cleaner could travel down the shaft to inside the body & slider contacts.

Nikko is great gear.