Repair power - Silvertone cabinet

GStewart

I have a 1960s Silvertone cabinet with turntable, radio and reel-to-reel recorder which I got from a moving sale last fall. It worked perfectly until today when there is suddenly no power.

Chassis number C817-50036:
Chassis number.jpg
There are two paper slips with chassis numbers as well, perhaps for the turntable and reel to reel? They are:
1487208 and 1474553 - no periods or dashes in those numbers.

I have zero experience but would love to get this back up and running, as the sound is beautiful. It's almost the same as the cabinet we had growing up so that's another reason to keep it alive. Any info or help is much appreciated!

I don't have a schematic, just this connection map stapled inside:

Attachments

• Chassis number.jpg
    Chassis number.jpg
    156.6 KB · Views: 5
Last edited:
When you say "no power", describe what you mean.

Is that blue thingamabob a power indicator? If so, does it light?
Does the turntable still function, or is that dead also?
Do you get any kind of audio on any of the channels?
Any hum from the speakers?
Did you notice any smoke or funny smells when the unit stopped working? Did it stop abruptly?
Is it plugged in now? If so, I'd unplug it.

Mike

Thanks for the quick reply.

No power of any kind to any component, just inert. No smoke or smells, it is currently unplugged. No hum, spark, crackle or anything from the speakers.

A few days ago I connected a bluetooth adapter thingy via 2 rca plugs into the tape deck record inputs at the back. Would that have killed it? The bluetooth device has its own power source plugged into a separate outlet and was just supplying audio in. We used it twice with no issues.

Did you try pushing the reset button? Its a circuit breaker, meant to trip if something goes wrong.