Restoring uncle's Sansui 9090DB

Juan9568

Hi guys. I'm about to begin with the restoration of my uncle's old Sansui 9090DB. The receiver is in a pretty bad condition, it has been serviced by bad technicians and they replaced parts with cheaper or wrong ones.

Issues:

. Burnt resistors
. Blown fuses
. Blown outputs
. Scratchy pots

A few months ago I decided to start with the restoration myself as there are no good technicians where I live and trying to get quality parts it's almost impossible.

I decided to do the following:

. Rebuild from scratch F2624 Driver board
. Replace capacitors and resistors from F2656 Power supply
. New fuses
. New outputs
. Clean all pots

Because I'm not an expert in electronics I thought it would be easier for me to start with a new F2624 instead of troubleshooting the whole board. So I got the new F2624 PCB and most of the other parts from mouser and digikey.

Also built myself a DBT cause I don't wanna blow everything up on the first run but I don't know yet what type of bulb I need to use for the thing to protect the amp, I got a 70W but don't know if it is the right wattage. I'm on a 220v area. Any suggestions??

What most scares me is when time comes to adjust the DC and Bias current, I know it is a very fragile thing and needs to be done correctly.

I would really appreciate it if someone can give me any tips, tricks, suggestions so I can make this restoration right.

THanks!!!

Here are some pics of the amp before I begin. I will be posting updates on my progress.

sQa17o.jpg

EwrErb.jpg

lygNci.jpg

A4MEoC.jpg

lfLci7.jpg

92GN8M.jpg

Ug7jFa.jpg

DE7xo4.jpg

Zn2t4i.jpg

I'm about to work on a 990DB so I will be watching. I found this thread: http://audiokarma.org/forums/index....ted-here-is-a-recent-replacement-list.426901/
Here is some advice from that thread:
If I could start over:

• I'd use a less powerful soldering iron than the 15watts iron I use. This board is very delicate. Rails lift like there is no tomorrow...