Sansui 5050 no FM at all

jmhanna

"No FM at all"

Kinda like Steely Dan sang about (...no static at all...) only worse. I've been using this 5050 receiver for several years now, works perfectly with the phono stage (about 98% of the use, for me) and AUX and AM inputs all work as they should. FM, however, plays nothing... No noise, no static, nothing at all. No signal strength, and the tuning meter stays at center, even with a large Radio Shack VU-120 antenna on the roof. It's as if the FM tuner has no power (but the dial pointer does light up in the FM mode). It did work at one time, but it's been a few years since I tried it.

I just grabbed the combined 5050 / 6060 service manual and plan do dig in to it tonight, but thought I'd try asking you experts first, in case someone has experienced this before. I appreciate any help!!

Welcome to AudioKarma Exclusively Sansui Forum. You join a long list of members who's first post is for help fixing a piece of Sansui history.

Sounds like a power supply problem. Do you have 13v at terminal 11 and 12 of tuner board F-2590?

Please post the serial number for the database. Click on the link in my signature block below.

- Pete

Pete, thanks for the prompt reply!! Here's what I measured at terminals 11 & 12 (referenced to terminal 8 for ground):
T-11 = 12.3 VDC (AM switch position) 0.6 VDC (FM position)
T-12 = 12.4 VDC (AM position) 5.6 VDC (FM position)

I unplugged the connector from the tuner board and measured this (using the same terminal 8 ground):
T-11 = 12.4 VDC (AM) 0 VDC (FM)
T-12 = 12.4 VDC (AM) 12.4 VDC (FM)