Some basic streaming questions

mcp1

I have been using Sonos for several years and have enjoyed it’s intuitive app. My primary source for Music is Tidal Hifi, with a smattering of Sirius, my own rips, and internet radio. What's bothering me is that Sonos doesn't allow me to take advantage of hi-rez.

I was thinking about changing network players in my main rig (Hegel H80 feeding Ryan R610 speakers). I don't need another DAC as the Hegel has that covered. Any suggestions for a network player, w/o DAC, that might possibly have native access to Tidal? The main system is in a living room and I don't want to have a laptop or PC hooked up to it - so I would need a decent app for Android or iPad. Admittedly, I am not an expert when it comes to streaming and PC audio...any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Raspberry PI platform with your choice of sound card. I use an Allo DigiOne with mine. Plays 192/24 and DSD (depending upon DAC) along with Tidal and other services using LMS.

The Tidal app works with a Chromecast Audio, doesn't it? And since you already have a DAC in place, you can bypass the DAC in the Chromecast.

The Chromecast device becomes just a means of accessing music content provided there is an app.

I have been using Sonos for several years and have enjoyed it’s intuitive app. My primary source for Music is Tidal Hifi, with a smattering of Sirius, my own rips, and internet radio. What's bothering me is that Sonos doesn't allow me to take advantage of hi-rez.