Sony CDP302ES Digital Out & DAC mods

cizeta

I am a Sony engineer and I have a CDP302ES since 1986 (30 years old). By technical I had access to confidential technical publications of Sony and I have replaced, over the years, the chip CX23035 (signal processor) with the most modern CXD1125Q, (pin to pin perfectly compatible), which is equipped with digital output (pin 27- DOTX) and plugged two PCM56P-K instead of the CX20152 DAC, being unique for the two channels (UNI linear converter), working alternately causes a technically annoying delay of approximately 5.67 microseconds between the left channel and the right channel, eliminated by the two DACs separated. Its operation is still impeccable and the sound is at the highest levels of quality. Tried instrumentally far it exceeds the linearity and intermodulation distortion (CBS CD-1 TEST DISC track 13) of the current bitstream readers. The sound of PCM56P is recognized as excellent.

Last edited:
2016-11-25 00.47.05.jpg 2016-11-25 00.48.00.jpg 2016-11-25 00.51.17.jpg 2016-11-25 01.54.02.jpg 2016-11-25 01.33.02.jpg 2016-11-25 00.49.24.jpg

I duplicate this my information to this category, for the benefit of those interested in the improvement.
The PCB with PCM56P comes from a Sony CDP-M70, the CX23034 digital filter has been maintained and the analog filter after the PCM56 is still the original.

Good morning, my name is Andrea, Hoping not to disturb you, are kindly asking for help ..... I have read on the Audiokarma forum its interesting intervention regarding a modification of a Sony cdp-302es cd player, to add the digital output. As for your directions I have replaced the c.i. Cx23034 digital filter with c.i. cxd1125q. When this is done, can I get out of pin 27 and connect it directly to a rca outlet, installed later, or do I have to add some components? Thanks for the moment, and excuse me for the bad English .... Yours sincerely

Andrea