Sony PS-X55 speed problem

kloquewerk

Hey guys, recently picked up a Sony PS-X55 TT that had a couple different issues. Had a counterweight problem which I have seemed to fix but the one thing I can't figure out is there speed issue I am having. The green light to show speed will flicker constantly, obviously because the speed is not correct. I tried tuning it with the 33 1/3 trimpot but it still sounds really "fluttery." I noticed the platter doesn't rotate evenly, kinda rocks up and down and I am guessing that is the issue. I took the spindle off and even when I turn it manually, it still kind of rocks up and down and not evenly. Am I looking in the wrong place to fix this issue? Could it be the speed trimpot that needs to be deoxit or does the fluctuating platter make more sense? Any help would be appreciated. Keep in mind, I am a total newbie and know pretty much nothing about repairs nor have any equipment at all to do testing with. Just hoping this is a somewhat easily fixable issue. Thanks again!

A little update on this: