Soundcraftsman RA-7502 Resurrection

Young46

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Hello, I am AK member for several years. I work on vintage gear as a hobby. My projects include receiver, speaker, amplifier, turntable, and tape deck (r-r and cassette) repair. I have a Soundcraftsman RA-7502 that needs to be repaired. When powered on some of the the lights would randomly blink. Thats all. It has been sitting idle for quite a while and I thought I would try to resurrect it. Any help will be greatly appreciated. I am not a professional tech, just an amateur that enjoys working on vintage equipment.

I have the unit torn down and have photos of the boards. The O/P transistors were a mixture. I read some of the threads and have purchased most of the electrolytic capacitors and the O/P transistors, Attached are some photos. I'm going to replace the O/P transistors and replace the electrolytic caps on the two boards along with the transistors first. Is this a good place to start?

Thanks

Attachments

• Pre-Driver Bd.JPG
    Pre-Driver Bd.JPG
    127.8 KB · Views: 88
  • Left OP Transistor Bd-01.jpg
    Left OP Transistor Bd-01.jpg
    58.6 KB · Views: 87
  • Left Side Circ-01-.jpg
    Left Side Circ-01-.jpg
    107.9 KB · Views: 88
  • Right Side Circ-01.jpg
    Right Side Circ-01.jpg
    107.4 KB · Views: 86
Looks alot like my A5002 with the plug-in driver boards.

Looks alot like my A5002 with the plug-in driver boards.
I’ve read some threads on AK and apparently the two units are very similar. The 7502 has 1 more pair of O/P transistors per side than the A5002 I believe. I don’t like all those twisted wires in there. Some repairs have been made to it in years past by a prior owner. I will post some more photos of them later.

If its like the MA and A 5002. Those twisted wires are so brittle. Looking at them the wrong way will break them.

If its like the MA and A 5002. Those twisted wires are so brittle. Looking at them the wrong way will break them.