Speaker Match for Technics SA-202

Teddy White

Hello, new member here.

My wife recently surprised me with this receiver (and a SL-B2 tt) as an Anniversary present. I am completely new to this field, and would appreciate any advice on speaker pairing. Bookshelf size a necessity due to space constraints (and animals who would undoubtedly use floor speakers as scratching posts). Budget: $300 (or less, of course).

Thank you!

Hsu Research HB-1MK2 is a high efficiency (i.e. plays loud with only a few watts) bookshelf model that can be matched with one of their outstanding subwoofers. $139 each (direct to consumer business model). Check out the reviews.

No inexpensive bookshelf speaker will provide the bass notes like a subwoofer does. The subwoofer can be added when budget and floor space become available.

www.hsuresearch.com

SA-2025 by Mark Hardy, on Flickr
I am -- FWIW -- not a big fan of that era of Technics receivers (although they look fairly nice)... but it was nice of your wife to get you one as a surprise! :)

The SA-202 is rather low powered (30 wpc, per link below) relative to much of the late 1970s solid state hardware and, IMO/IME that line of Technics receivers were also kind of thin sounding. They're also rather flimsily built and not too impressive inside.

http://www.vintagetechnics.audio/sh...2OiJzYS0yMDIiO2k6MTtzOjk6InJlY2VpdmVycyI7fQ==

"For best results" a moderately sensitive (rated in the high 80s dB SPL at 1 meter distance for an input of 1 watt into an 8 ohm load) and "warmer" sounding loudspeaker model would be where I'd go for an SA-202.

A recommendation? ;)

Well -- vintage or new? New, I cannot offer much, except to say that many folks really like the new ELAC B5 or B6 models. They're a little less sensitive than optimal for an SA-202, though. They're said to sound very good, and the prices are very right.