Speakers for jazz

Joseph A. B.

Anyone have any recommendations for vintage speakers for listening to old school jazz. That would be late 30's, 40's 50's and early 60's. $200.00-$400.00 range? Thanks in advance.

Hi, Joseph, and welcome to AK!

Have you heard any speakers in the past that appealed to you?

Where do you live? Have any large cities near you where you might find audio clubs or sellers of used hifi gear?

Do you presently own any hifi gear?

GeeDeeEmm

Well, except for a one off Duke Ellington date from 1932 you won't have to worry much about stereo imaging. While I'm no expert I would think that recording technology of the day probably doesn't have the extension of more modern recordings. As someone who has listened to a lot of jazz from the '20's, '30's, and '40's, I'd say pick speakers that sound good on more recent recordings to you. They'll bring out the best of latter day recordings too.

Tons of choices in that range. I would look for the beat deals and audition if possible. Also although most wouldn't consider the 90s 'vintage' I think some of the best deals as far as price, condition, and sound come from that era. I have a pair of incredible speakers from the 90s in mint condition that I bought for less than 20 cents on the dollar.

I was going to respond to this thread when I first saw it but had just decided to shuffle some speakers into use. What did I shuffle in and why does it matter? A set of Magnepans that I haven't used in years. Diana Krall is here right now singing through them. You should be able to pick up an early pair cheap enough and still have money left for the materials to restring the tweeters and ends of the bass panel (should they need it). There is a pair nearby for over $100 less than your budget and they have been fixed already. Maybe consider some Klipsch Heresy or KG4s as well.

Great Inquiry Joseph and welcome to AK.