SuperScope R-330

specenka

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Hello all. I am very new to this and very intrigued by it. I really like the vintage receivers, the way the look and the way the sound. I was born in 65, so am somewhat familiar with the brand names from back in the heyday of receiver building. I am on my first project and that is a SuperScoper R-330. I've powered it up and it appears to be working fine. All I've been able to test at this time is the tuner and have it hooked up to some Fischer XP-1A speakers. Sounds pretty good. Have some veneer peeling off the cabinet, not torn or in bad shape. Should be able to just glue it back down, any particular type of glue I should use? I've removed the hood and looked inside and it is very clean, some dust but not much. Have a few bulbs out on the dial that I would like to try and replace. Does it matter what size fuselamps I get and do you know of a good source to get them? Would also like to try and clean the knobs up real good but looks like I'll have remove the face plate for that or maybe the bottom? Would like to add a turntable in the near future (any recommendations for that would be appreciated) Don't want to spend big dollars but would like to hear what you all think would be good for someone just starting out. Have spotted a Realistic STA-860 in a thrift store and they want 40.00 for it. Not sure if it works or not but it's in very good shape cosmetically. Thought I might offer them 20.00 and see what they say. Sorry for such a long post, it's my second one. Thanks for reading and hope to get some good advice.

When you say clean the knobs up, I will assume you mean cleaning the controls and switches themselves. If thats the case, then iirc you can drop the bottom off for access, I know I never took the face off for the 2 Superscope receivers I had here recently.