SX-1250 Resistors blown after recap

vlig-hifi

I just finished recapping the four large capacitors and ran the DBT with no apparent issues. I then plugged it directly into the wall and after 2 min of being powered, smoke came from the Power Amplifier board (AWH-048). I removed the board and checked what looked to be a burnt resistor R24. From what I've been reading, a bad transistor could have caused this, but should I have done something before plugging it into the wall? Where do I go from here? I'm relatively new to this but have an engineering background and am willing to put in the time and effort to figure it out.

Years ago I had a bad power transistor cause this, same as you've read. I don't remember now if it was R24, but it did smoke the power amp board.
Bob

Do I identify bad components, replace and power up again? Is there anything that could be causing this issue or other components to test prior to power up?

Unplug the amp boards top and bottom Molex plugs.
DBT the set and check the big cap voltages.
The caps for the smoked amp board maybe installed incorrectly. The plus side cap mainly.
You want a good +-70 volts from the output side posts.
Double check your install.
As for the amp? Check all the drivers transistors for service and resistors for value from R24 and up. And all the diodes.
It might need only a few components but you have to check everything the +70 rail effects.
A good idea?:
It might be a good time to rebuild the amps anyway and the forum has a wonderful list to order from. Minus the resistors.

The big filters can take a beating. It's amazing how much reverse voltage they can stand. You might even find the reversed cap by feeling the temperature of the cap itself.
The best/safest way is to check all the wiring and compare to images on google.
I have a 1250 near the bench if you need any images for it.

The OP glosses over what was done to the power amp board before turning it on,