SX-737 trying to bring back to life.

R Jackson

Hello you guys, I just signed up on here yesterday because Google brought me here from looking up a SX-737 my friend gave me. He bought it new when he graduated high school around 1974. So far all I have done is replaced a chewed up power cord and done some vacuum cleaning of inside. I'm not new to electronics but bad rusty. I turned 41 yesterday and was one of the last classes to go through electronics at the local community college back in the early 90s. Shortly after they did away with that degree all together when most stuff started becoming throw away. Mostly my dealings with electronics have been from Ham radio. (KE5KBG) This is my first attempt at trying to get an old receiver going. After replacing the power cord and flipping the on toggle I get nothing. Going to try using some of this good info you guys provided here on this forum.
THANKS
ROBERT JACKSON

Definitely use the search function while you wait for the experts to chime in. There's so much information on this site, good information, that will keep you busy for hours. I have a 737 that I bought in working condition a few years ago and listen to it almost daily. Has a great sound.

I have been reading a lot about them in this forum and have printed the schematic out on plotter. My buddy must have smoked about 3 packs a day from the looks of it. Took me an hour just to scrub the knobs. It was free so hopefully I won't have a fortune in it when I'm done.

I would start by checking the bias and DC offset. Be aware the manual has the adjustment pots mixed up. You can find the corrected version on this site. If you search you will find a thread that explains the error. If your lucky maybe the receiver is in protection and just needs adjustment.