Technics SL-1200MK2 w/Super Track Plus Shure & Dynakit PAS 2 Produces No Sound

ejbrooks13

Hello,

I am relatively new to the hi-fi world and I am trying to finish setting up my turntable. I currently have a Technics Quartz SL-1200MK2 with a Super Track Plus Shure cartridge hooked up to a Dynakit PAS 2 preamp and I am not getting any sound through the speakers.

I have the preamp hooked up to two-monoblock Dynakit MK III amps and a pair of Klipsch speakers. I get great sound from my system using the Tape In hooked up to my phone to play music but get no sound with the turntable hooked up to Phono ports on the preamp. I was sure to select the correct positions on the front of my preamp to allow signal from the turntable but no matter what I try I cannot get anything more than a faint signal. I have a set a RCA-Aux that I use to hook up my phone and with this inserted into the Phono input I have to crank up the volume to even get a slight sound from the speakers. This leads me to believe that my phono is not working properly (correct me if I am wrong).

I am trying to figure out if my cartridge is bad/incorrect or if my phono is not working on my preamp, or if I have something hooked up incorrectly.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Eric

Make sure the headshell is completely screwed on. Make sure the headshell cables on the cartridge are correctly connected to the headshell terminals.
Make sure you don't have a tape monitor button pushed in or on if your preamp has one.
Disconnect your phone from the system. Put the cables from the 1200 into the phono preamp inputs on your preamp. If you have your monoblocks correctly connected to the PAS 2 you should hear some sound.

There's a very rare chance the RCA leads on the turntable are defective (I got my 1200 M3D for $50 because of that). Try another turntable and make sure everything is properly connected.