The Amazon Dot is amazing

transmaster

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I just did something that I never, ever been able to do with Siri. Alexa play Khachaturian. Sharazade It nailed it, I almost fell out of my chair. Alexa WWOZ, “continuing WWOZ, instantly Alexa WQXR, continuing WQXR, and it was playing. It was even getting the off the wall newage musicians I listen to. I can catch it on some really obscure questions but that could be because I am still learning how to address it.

¡Alexa C...Siri no!

I just did something that I never, ever been able to do with Siri. Alexa play Khachaturian. Sharazade It nailed it, I almost fell out of my chair. Alexa WWOZ, “continuing WWOZ, instantly Alexa WQXR, continuing WQXR, and it was playing. It was even getting the off the wall newage musicians I listen to. I can catch it on some really obscure questions but that could be because I am still learning how to address it.

¡Alexa C...Siri no!

Well I'm glad your device can understand you because I sure as hell can't!

Ask alexa to tell you a dirty joke. Just make sure the kids are out of the room ...

Yes, Alexa has been improving substantially in recognizing World Music names, as well. I have Alexa in the car now too (and Google for navigation), because Siri simply doesn’t cut it.

I did tell Siri, Alexa was better and it said "Well I'll still be here".

To be sure there are some things that Alexa does not do. because Siri has a GPS tie in it knows where you are. So if I ask what the temperature is outside is Siri tells me what is in Cheyenne, I have to be specific with Alexa otherwise I get the weather for Rawlins, Wyoming where the servers I am hooked to are located.

Last edited:

¡Alexa C...Siri no!
Yep, the Dot is awesome...if you don't mind having Amazon listening in and storing what you say in the cloud. I periodically go in and delete everything they heard on each device on their website.