Transformer stays warm when power off

rumblestrip

I picked up this minty little JVC RX-217 receiver this week. It looks practically like new inside and out and all the functions work as they should. So I thought I lucked out. After playing it for a couple of hours I turned it off. An hour or so later I came back to it only to notice that the transformer was still giving off heat! So I unplugged it, let it stand for half an hour, then came back to check on it again. No heat off the transformer now. Plugged it back in - power off still - and left it for a few minutes. When I came back, the transformer was giving off heat again. I’ve been collecting vintage audio for over 20 years now and never noticed this before in any other amp or receiver I’ve had. But not being technically savvy with it I have to wonder: Is this okay or is there something wrong with it. I hate to toss it without knowing for sure, but I don’t want to use it if it turns out to be a fire hazard. So what’s the story on this, please.

Attachments

• DSC00006.JPG
    DSC00006.JPG
    122.3 KB · Views: 50
  • DSC00011.JPG
    DSC00011.JPG
    161.9 KB · Views: 47
  • DSC00013.JPG
    DSC00013.JPG
    225.3 KB · Views: 48
I wouldn't worry about it. This should be normal behavior of this transformer. Since this receiver has a "soft" power off, which allows it to go into standby and power on from the remote, it still needs to draw power from the wall to keep the standby circuit energized. This would give off a little heat, especially if it is using the main transformer to drive the standby circuit (most receivers use a smaller standby transformer to save electricity, since it is a low power circuit.). As long as it is not too hot when off, it is ok to use.