Tube v. SS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Superman541

Which sounds better? ((((JUST KIDDING!!!!))))

I am likely buying a pair of Dahlquist DQ-10s tomorrow morning. I think they will sound good with my SS 70 wpc amp. I think they will even sound good with my 15 wpc EL-84 tube receiver. However, many people say these speakers need 150+ wpc to....ahem...."open them up." but....

...some also say they sound very good with tube gear. Okay, here is my question: Since tube gear very rarely provides 150+ wpc power, I assume they are saying that speakers like these DQ-10s (or any other good speaker for that matter) need EITHER a good tube amp (30-40-75 wpc) -OR- a quite powerful SS amp (150 - 200+ wpc).

Am I on the right track here? I am a musician, and I happen to have a STRONG preference for tube gear. My 100W heads routinely CRUSH 500W SS heads. My 300W head is a monster. Tube power, objectively, is not greater than SS power. But in battlefield conditions, 30+ tube watts seems to be rarely lacking in clarity or volume. I think that speakers which need lots of power....are fine with double-digit tube watts. Would you agree?

Or, alternatively, is someone suggesting that DQ-10s need the tube power of at least 3 high-current 6550s per side? That sounds ridiculous.

Get a 1 MEGAWATT Tube Power and never look back! In SS realm, that equates to about 10 MEGAWATT Sand Power!

Either one usually works for the DQ-10.

On a side note, Watts are Watts and why would anyone thinks SS Watts are less of a Watt than a Tube's Watt?

What is a 100W heads?