Updated with results - Need help with MC2300 - dead channel

tom1066

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Never posted in the McIntosh forum before but been a long time lurker. I have been running a 2300 into a stack of JBLs (my own Wall of Sound) for a while now and this AM had my first problem ever with it. I lost the right channel and smelled the dreaded electronic burning smell. I shut it down (luckily my speakers lived thru the ordeal) and took the top off. Immediately on the board behind the left autoformer I saw a burnt resistor so I pulled it out - see the pics below.

I am going to pull the obviously charred ones and replace them but need to know if something else either upstream or downstream should be checked and/or pulled.

I have never worked on a Mcintosh before but have recapped and serviced some Marantz 22xx receivers with luck.

Thanks so much for the input and help!
2300 board.jpg 2300 board corner.jpg

The driver transitors should have been upgraded decades ago, Mac provided us a kit to do it and would have been done at N/C if brought into a amp clinic.

The best thing to do now is to see if Mac parts still has replacement updated boards. If not maybe AC does or you can look in past posts for many discussions about this.

Hopefully the outputs are OK but it would not surprise me if a few were taken out which with today's parts replacing them all.

Thanks -

I will just get two new boards and replace them both. And pull the outputs to check them- hadn't done that in a while.

Thanks -

I will just get two new boards and replace them both. And pull the outputs to check them- hadn't done that in a while.

Check the emitter resistors as well, they do like to go open in cases like this.

Hello tom1066