What is the future of FM/terrestrial radio?

Rotoplooker

I'm new to tuners and I have been playing with the idea of picking up a mid-level vintage solid state tuner. My concern is with the talk that terrestrial radio has officially already been issued a death knell, with the advent of digital/satellite radio (not so much what they are now, but what they will be in the future)

As I understand it, the U.S has even set a date for the cut off, much like the pending demise of CRT/NTSC/non-digital broadcast based equipment and technology. I think here in Canada, we're not far behind.

This is not a troll, so don't come down heavy on me. Money is scarce and I am potentially spending money I don't really have and want to make sure I do the right thing. I love radio and have a handfull of exceptional stations that I would like to listen to.

So, what say you..all in, or buy something inexpensive and watch the house of cards fall down in a couple of years?

One thing is for sure, the future of analog(ue) radio is much brighter than for
analog(ue) TV. A few years ago (maybe 15 or so), I read that there was a cutoff
date for radio in Canada (around 2010), it now looks like (traditional) radio will live
after TV is gone.

By the way, don't make this kind of mistake: there ARE tv sets with a CRT and
digital tuner.

It appears that after all the costs of a transition to all digital radio might be too
high to be footed by all the parties concerned, while this would not be the case
for TV.

If there is a date for analog radio cutoff in the US, I would like to see a reference.

In the UK, they are phasing out FM, but they are also phasing out leaded solder,
crazy people!

Sorry, I won't write any further tonight, this is getting a bit messy...

Imho FM is going to be around for along time
and a decent tuner is a good investment.
(Say,certain Sansui's have a great resale value)
To do it on the cheap,Step up the search in thrifts
garage sales and craigslist.
Long live FM